Skip to content

RightSure Insurance Group Blog

All You Ever Wanted to Know About Insurance

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona

By Megan Kossow

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arizona

If you are caught driving without insurance in the state of Arizona, serious penalties can occur

In the state of Arizona you, as a licensed driver, are required to carry the following minimum amounts of liability on your insurance policy $15,000 per person for bodily injury, $30,000 per occurrence for bodily injury, and $10,000 of property damage. This coverage covers the OTHER person in an accident if you are at fault. It is required by the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) that all drivers carry proof of financial responsibility- failure to do so can result in a citation. If you do have insurance but are unable to provide proof at the time of the ticket- you can provide proof that you had insurance on or  before the date of the ticket to the court and the charge will be dismissed.

On your First Offense of driving without insurance you will:

  • Be fined $500 
  • Driver's license, registration, and license plate will be suspended for 3 months
  • Incur a $35 total to reinstate the above
  • Need to obtain an SR-22 certificate on your insurance for at least 2 years (this can cause an increase on your insurance)

On your Second Offense of driving without insurance (within 36 months of the first offense) you will:

  • Be fined $750
  • Driver's license, registration, and license plate will be suspended for 6 months
  • Incur a $35 total to reinstate the above
  • Need to obtain an SR-22 certificate on your insurance for at least 2 years 

On your Third Offense of driving without insurance (within 36 months of the second offense) you will:

  • Be fined $1,000
  • Driver's license, registration, and license plate will be suspended for 1 year
  • Incur a $35 total to reinstate the above
  • Need to obtain an SR-22 certificate on your insurance for at least 2 year

What is an SR-22 certificate?

An SR-22 is mandatory insurance, also known as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility. This is a contract added on to your insurance policy that shows proof to the state you have the state minimum required amount of insurance and must be on your insurance policy for the time specified by the state. This contract notifies the state of any lapses or cancellations of coverage- a lapse or cancellation can result in suspension of your driver's license, registration, and license plate. 

You can obtain an SR-22 certificate on a policy provided by RIGHTSURE. We work with over 30 companies and have a range of carriers that provide SR-22 certificates so we can compare and find you the best insurance rate.

How can I reduce or eliminate my fine?

It may be possible for you to reduce or eliminate your fine if you have been caught driving without insurance as your first offense in 3 years. In order to do so you will need to provide some proof to the court.

The items you will need to provide the court are:

  • Proof that you have not a previous driving conviction for driving without insurance in the last 2 years or not more than one in the last 3 years
  • Proof that you have obtained a minimum 6 months of insurance with the state required limits 

Only the courts have the authority to reduce or eliminate fines. 

Need instant insurance? Quote and buy online yourself HERE

For more information or SR-22 quotes give us a call at 520-901-7010


About RIGHTSURE
Headquartered in Tucson, Arizona, RIGHTSURE is an Insurance Technology firm leveraging cutting edge products with Artificial Intelligence and Insur-tech relationships to help families and businesses in 42 states. By using a unique, client-centered approach, combined with superior technology, RIGHTSURE presents clients with a wide range of Insurance options and a seamless purchasing process. To learn more, visit https://www.rightsure.com or call 520-917-5295.